CCW Frequently Asked Questions

What is CCW? Concealed carry, or carrying a concealed firearm (CCW), is the practice of carrying a firearm in public, in a concealed manner, on one’s person or in close proximity. Almost every state in the US allows for concealed carry either permitless or with a permit.

Do you have a firing range? Yes, we have multiple ranges on over 500 acres of private land in Moorpark, CA. See details here

Who can get a concealed carry permit? All 50 U.S. states have laws in place allowing citizens to carry concealed firearms. Some states have Consitutional Carry or shall-issue permit laws, while others make it more difficult with may-issue permit laws or no-issue laws.

How can I obtain a Carry Concealed Weapon (CCW) license? Contact your county sheriff’s office or, if you are a resident of an incorporated city, your city police department, for information on obtaining a CCW license. They can answer your questions and provide you with a copy of their CCW license policy statement and the CCW license application. If you live within an incorporated city, you may apply to the police department or the county sheriff’s office for a CCW license. However, only residents of a city may apply to a city police department for a CCW license. (Pen. Code, §§ 26150-26225.)

Is there any reason why I might not be approved for a CCW permit? California is a “may-issue” state, meaning that local law enforcement has discretion when issuing carrying concealed weapons (“CCW”) licenses. Licensing authorities may only issue CCW licenses after finding that: 1) the applicant is of good moral character and, after a background check, is not prohibited by state or federal law from possessing, receiving, owning, or purchasing a firearm. 2) good cause exists for the issuance of a license. 3) the applicant has completed a firearms safety course; and 4) the applicant meets relevant residency requirements.

Should I purchase a handgun before taking the class? If you don’t currently own a handgun, we recommend waiting until after the class. We have loaner firearms and gear available to complete the class and we will help you make a decision on purchasing.

Is California CCW valid in other states? 28 states honor a California concealed carry permit: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, Idaho, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Michigan, Maine, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, North Carolina, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah (21+), Vermont, Virginia, West Virginia, Wisconsin (21+), Wyoming. California does not honor any other state’s concealed carry permits.

How long does it take to get a CCW permit? How long will processing take? The turnaround time for processing a concealed firearm license application is within 90 days of the date of application, or 30 days after the background check is received from the Department of Justice (whichever is sooner)..

Do I need to renew a CCW permit every year? The CCW permit is valid for 2 years.

Can I travel on an airplane with my CCW permit? You may transport firearms and ammunition, but not as a carry on. However you CAN transport the optics as a carry on!

How much does it cost to obtain a California License to Carry? The total cost to obtain a CCW permit in California is anywhere from $200 to $300.

What types of training is required to get a CCW permit? Section 26165 of the Penal Code (2) The course shall include instruction on firearm safety, firearm handling, shooting technique, and laws regarding the permissible use of a firearm. (3) The course shall include live-fire shooting exercises on a firing range and shall include a demonstration by the applicant of safe handling of, and shooting proficiency with, each firearm that the applicant is applying to be licensed to carry. New license applicants must complete all courses required by the licensing authority. These courses will not exceed 16 hours or be less than 4 hours and must include instruction on firearm safety and the law regarding the permissible use of a concealed firearm.

I am a California non-resident. Can I apply for a CCW Permit? California does not issue CCW Permits to non-residents.

Is a background check required when applying for a CCW Permit? Background checks are often required by the applicant’s County Sheriff. This includes taking the applicant’s fingerprints when submitting the application and submitting the gathered data to the California Department of Justice.

Who issues CCW permits? In California, the sheriff of the applicant’s county issues CCW permits. This will depend on the city or county you live in. For example, residents of Beverly Hills would not be able to go to their local sheriff. They would need to visit the Los Angeles Sheriff to begin the CCW permit application process. As of May 1, 2021, the CCW application process has changed. Citizens of California may visit their local sheriff’s office to deposit start with their CCW application. CCW firearm applicants now do not need to visit their local police station to start their application.

Are there any restrictions on the firearm I can concealed carry? The firearm you list on your CCW application must be a handgun that is registered to you in the state of California. “AR Pistol” platforms and similar handgun styles are prohibited. The handgun must also be capable of being concealed upon a person or within a reasonably sized bag/purse. Customization to firearms are permitted as long as it does not violate any State or Federal regulation. There are no caliber restrictions. The ammunition must comply with State and Federal regulations. Magazine capacity is not restricted. However, the use of any magazine with a capacity above 10 rounds is only permitted if the applicant is in legal possession of such magazine.

What types of firearms can I use with a concealed carry CCW Permit? Gun owners in California can obtain a CCW permit, authorizing them to carry a pistol from the California list of legal handguns.